Performance Friday, January 19, 2018 | 9 PM

Kronos Quartet

Zankel Hall
In addition to pieces by three American mavericks written in the 1960s, the ever-adventurous Kronos Quartet performs a program that includes world premieres of two works commissioned by Carnegie Hall. Zachary J. Watkins’s piece is inspired by the moment just before Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. delivered his “I Have a Dream” speech, while Stacy Garrop’s work is rooted in the words and spirit of oral historian and activist Studs Terkel.

Part of Late Nights at Zankel Hall.


  • Kronos Quartet
    ·· David Harrington, Violin
    ·· John Sherba, Violin
    ·· Hank Dutt, Viola
    ·· Sunny Yang, Cello


  • STACY GARROP New Work (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • ZACHARY J. WATKINS New Work (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • Plus works by Terry Riley, John Cage, and Janis Joplin


Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Mellon logo transparent
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
This performance is part of Zankel Sampler I, and The '60s Sampler.

Part of