Performance Thursday, March 30, 2017 | 7:30 PM

Simone Lamsma
Robert Kulek

Weill Recital Hall
Violin sonatas by two 20th-century masters are performed by Dutch violinist Simone Lamsma, who “plays with the kind of artistry and maturity that makes one wonder if she started playing the violin before she was born” (Cincinnati Enquirer). She performs Prokofiev’s Violin Sonata No. 1, noteworthy for its first movement’s muted scales that were likened by the composer to “wind in a graveyard,” and Strauss’s Violin Sonata, a youthful work with heartfelt melodies that point to the lyric splendor of his mature music. There’s also the world premiere of a James MacMillan work commissioned by Carnegie Hall as part of its 125 Commissions Project.

Part of Salon Encores.


  • Simone Lamsma, Violin
    New York Recital Debut
  • Robert Kulek, Piano


  • JAMES MACMILLAN Violin Sonata, "Before the Tryst" (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • PROKOFIEV Violin Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 80
  • R. STRAUSS Violin Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 18


SIMONE LAMSMA Salut d’amour, Op. 12
Simone Lamsma, Violin | Yurie Miura, Piano

Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Public support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by the National Endowment for the Arts.
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
Distinctive Debuts is supported by endowment gifts from The Lizabeth and Frank Newman Charitable Foundation and the Stavros Niarchos Foundation.
This performance is part of Distinctive Debuts.

Part of