Presented by Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Performance Saturday, March 18, 2017 | 7 PM

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
American cellist and MacArthur Fellowship recipient Alisa Weilerstein performs Schumann’s enigmatic Cello Concerto, a product of a brilliant composer on the brink of insanity. The early works of great composers are featured with Mendelssohn’s refreshing Nocturno for Winds, Webern’s aphoristic Five Movements for Strings, and Schubert’s elegant symphonic salute to the powerful influences of Rossini, Haydn and Mozart.


  • Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
  • Alisa Weilerstein, Cello


  • MENDELSSOHN Overture for Wind Instruments in C Major, Op. 24
  • SCHUMANN Cello Concerto
  • WEBERN Five Movements for Strings, Op. 5
  • SCHUBERT Symphony No. 6


This video content was provided by the presenter.

Event Information

By clicking the link below, you will be leaving the Carnegie Hall website.

Student and Senior Discount Tickets Available at the Box Office