Performance Friday, December 8, 2017 | 7:30 PM

American Composers Orchestra

Orchestra Underground: Reflected in Glass—Philip Glass and the Next Generation

Zankel Hall
The acclaimed new-music ensemble celebrates its 40th anniversary with two new works and a classic by Carnegie Hall’s Richard and Barbara Debs Composer’s Chair Philip Glass. Bryce Dessner’s Réponse Lutosławski is the creative fruit of his study of Lutosławski’s string orchestra piece Musique funèbre. Glass’s work is an homage as well: a daring take on Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, with synthesizer replacing the harpsichord and a rollicking finale with a rock ‘n’ roll sensibility.


  • American Composers Orchestra
    George Manahan, Music Director and Conductor
  • Timothy Fain, Violin
  • Pauchi Sasaki, Electronics


  • PAUCHI SASAKI GAMA XVI for Orchestra and Electronics (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • BRYCE DESSNER Réponse Lutoslawski (NY Premiere)
  • PHILIP GLASS Violin Concerto No. 2, "The American Four Seasons"


Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Mellon logo transparent
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
Philip Glass is the holder of the 2017—2018 Richard and Barbara Debs Composer’s Chair at Carnegie Hall.
This performance is part of Zankel Sampler I.

Part of