Performance Monday, October 30, 2017 | 8 PM

China NCPA Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
One of China’s great orchestras makes its Carnegie Hall debut in a program that features a new work commissioned for the occasion by Qigang Chen (music director of the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing) and a classic from its homeland, along with Sibelius’s heroic Symphony No. 2. Lang Lang is the soloist in the legendary Yellow River Concerto, a work beloved for its blend of Chinese themes, colorful Western orchestral writing, and devilishly challenging solo part. While the concerto conjures images of the Chinese river, Sibelius’s symphony is a magnificent paean to Finnish natural beauty and the indomitable spirit of the composer’s countrymen.


  • China NCPA Orchestra
    Lü Jia, Chief Conductor
  • Lang Lang, Piano


  • QIGANG CHEN New Work (US Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • YIN CHENGZONG / CHU WANGHUA Yellow River Concerto
  • SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2
This performance is proudly supported by ICBC U.S. Region.
ICBC (transparent) 2016
Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Mellon logo transparent
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
This performance is part of Concertos Plus.

Part of