Performance Tuesday, October 17, 2017 | 7:30 PM

Alisa Weilerstein, Cello
Inon Barnatan, Piano

Zankel Hall
“Their interpretations were like a series of marvelously expressive close-ups: every note and phrase pinned to an exact emotion,” wrote The Boston Globe of cellist Alisa Weilerstein and pianist Inon Barnatan. The duo performs Mendelssohn’s impassioned Cello Sonata No. 2 and a new work by Steven Mackey co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall. The two also explore a Russian connection with Britten’s mercurial work, written for cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, and Rachmaninoff’s Cello Sonata, a piece that journeys from anguish to jubilation.


  • Alisa Weilerstein, Cello
  • Inon Barnatan, Piano


  • MENDELSSOHN Cello Sonata No. 2 in D Major
  • BRITTEN Cello Sonata
  • STEVEN MACKEY New Work for Cello and Piano (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • RACHMANINOFF Cello Sonata
This concert is made possible, in part, by an endowment fund for young artists established by Mr. and Mrs. Anthony B. Evnin and the AE Charitable Foundation.
Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Mellon logo transparent
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
This performance is part of Chamber Sessions I.

Part of