Performance Thursday, October 12, 2017 | 7:30 PM

Takács Quartet

Zankel Hall
H. C. Robbins Landon, the famed Haydn scholar, called the composer’s “Fifths” String Quartet “one of the most serious, learned, and intellectually formidable works he ever wrote.” It is certainly erudite with an opening movement that’s a marvel of austere beauty and compelling turbulence, but there is also cutting wit and a finale that nods to the Hungarian Gypsy traditional. If Haydn’s quartet appeals to the mind, Mendelssohn’s String Quintet No. 2 moves the heart with a rhapsodic opening movement and a wrenching, sorrow-drenched lament.


  • Takács Quartet
    ·· Edward Dusinberre, Violin
    ·· Károly Schranz, Violin
    ·· Geraldine Walther, Viola
    ·· András Fejér, Cello
  • Erika Eckert, Viola


  • HAYDN String Quartet in D Minor, Op. 76, No. 2, "Fifths"
  • CARL VINE String Quartet No. 6, "Child's Play" (US Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • MENDELSSOHN String Quintet No. 2 in B-flat Major, Op. 87


Pre-concert talk starts at 6:30 PM in Zankel Hall with Edward Dusinberre, first violinist of the Takács Quartet, in conversation with Jeremy Geffen, Director of Artistic Planning, Carnegie Hall.
Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Mellon logo transparent
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
This performance is part of Chamber Sessions II.

Part of